School At A Glance

The School of Physics has undergone significant transformations over the years. It began in 1980 when the Department of Applied Physics laid its foundation. In 2009, the School of Electronic Science and Applied Physics came into existence. In 2015, the construction of the National Demonstration Microelectronics College was approved. In March 2021, a restructuring occurred, resulting in the birth of the School of Physics.

Today, the School of Physics boasts a faculty of over 100 members, with a remarkable 90% holding Ph.D. or Master's degrees, among whom there are 80 specialized teachers, including 24 professors and more than 50 associate professors. Within this accomplished group, there are over 20 Ph.D. advisors and more than 50 Master's advisors. The school is home to 2 national-level talents, over 10 distinguished "Hubing" and "Huangshan" scholars, and several other provincial and ministerial talents. The School offers Master’s programs in Physics, Optical Engineering, and Electronic Information, under which there are five secondary disciplines: Condensed Matter Physics, Atomic and Molecular Physics, Theoretical Physics, Optics, and Acoustics. Moreover, it also hosts several provincial and ministerial platforms, such as the "Ministry of Education Applied Physics Online Collaborative Research Center" and the "Anhui Provincial Physics Experiment Demonstration Center." Committed to addressing significant challenges in physics and interdisciplinary studies, the School strives to create a harmonious blend of top-tier talent development and cutting-edge research. Its mission includes establishing a solid foundation for undergraduate, postgraduate, and postdoctoral students, ultimately cultivating a new generation of outstanding physicists.

Throughout its history, the School has achieved remarkable milestones in scientific research. In 1970, the establishment of a laser research group who successfully produced the university's inaugural laser output marked a pivotal moment. Over the ensuing decades, the School secured four national awards and nine provincial/ministerial awards. Notably, in 1977, the groundbreaking "WQZ Laser Holographic Opto-Elasticity Meter" found its application in the stress testing of Chairman Mao's crystal coffin, ultimately earning the prestigious 1978 National Science Congress Award. Additionally, in collaboration with provincial hospitals, the "Ophthalmic Laser Iris Removal Device" received the same distinguished honor in 1978. Further in 1988, a partnership with the Anhui Optical Institute led to the development of the "JWG Laser Microzone Spectrometer," which was recognized with the 1988 National Science and Technology Progress Second Prize. Subsequently, the "BN-SIN Metal Surface Enhancement Technology" clinched the 1993 National Technology Invention Third Prize. Moreover, the School conducted a wide array of laser application studies, encompassing innovations such as the laser dynamic micrometer, laser blood sampling device, double-pulse laser holography, pseudo-color coding device, and confocal laser scanning imaging.

Presently, the School actively pursues six primary research directions, which include Experimental Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Precision Measurement, Fiber Optic Devices & Systems, Microstructure Optics & Light Field Control, Theoretical & Computational Physics, and Noise & Vibration Control. The School has undertaken over a hundred research projects sponsored by national entities, provinces, and enterprises, published a substantial volume of academic papers, and secured nearly a hundred patented inventions.

Hefei University of Technology is among the pioneers in China to establish a Department of Applied Physics, setting a significant milestone in its education evolution and taking an early lead among the country's engineering universities. The current undergraduate program in Applied Physics has emerged from the amalgamation of three original programs in Laser, Solid-State Materials, and Semiconductors, all initiated in 1980. In alignment with national and local talent development requirements, this program is dedicated to nurturing visionary leaders in applied physics who possess the capability to tackle intricate engineering challenges.

Since its inception, this program has honed the skills of thousands of professionals, and its graduates enjoy widespread recognition in society. Remarkably, over the past five years, the employment rate of our undergraduate alumni has consistently exceeded 95% on their first attempts, and an impressive 39% have chosen to pursue postgraduate studies.

Prioritizing talent cultivation, the School continuously deepens teaching reforms, vigorously promotes course resource development, and produces blended learning models. In addition to offering undergraduate and postgraduate programs within its field, the School is also responsible for delivering essential university physics courses and laboratory experiments to all undergraduates.

Drawing upon its extensive experience in foundational physics courses and political education in the curriculum, the School provides specialized courses for the joint clinical medicine program in collaboration with Hefei University of Technology and Anhui Medical University. The School places a strong emphasis on delivering high-quality engineering, innovation, and entrepreneurship education. As a testament to its dedication, it has received numerous provincial teaching achievement awards, developed a range of premium courses, authored multiple textbooks, and earned dozens of national awards in various student competitions. Furthermore, the School has had the honor of hosting the Anhui Provincial College Students' Physics Academic Competition for two consecutive years.

The School takes a proactive approach by teaming up with leading research institutions and businesses. These collaborations span across various organizations, including the Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Anhui Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Huawei in Shenzhen, Taihe Intelligent, Nanjing Lopu, Hefei Keraisichuang, Hefei Mairui Photoelectric, and Hefei KeChuangZhongGuang. These partnerships have yielded numerous accomplishments, many of which being applied in national, local key, and defense projects.

Furthermore, the School has established strong ties with renowned universities in the United States, Canada, UK, Sweden, Japan, and other regions. These relationships facilitate cross-cultural exchanges and academic activities. Additionally, collaborative platforms with businesses have been created in multiple areas, such as Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Information, Photoelectronic Technology, Advanced Testing Technology, Functional Materials & Devices, and Sensitive Materials & Sensors. These platforms serve to bolster research efforts and nurture talent within the School.

Tel:0551-62903603     Postal code:230601
School address:No. 420 Feicui Road, University City, Hefei Economic and Technological Development Zone, Anhui Province
Copyright © All rights reserved